I Shall Wear Midnight – Terry Pratchett

The final installment in the Tiffany Aching series, which I thoroughly enjoyed (the series and this book itself). Made a very refreshing change after Moby-Dick, too, what with characters with motivation, a plot, nice jokes and simple themes.

This is the one where the old Baron dies, and Tiffany is accused of murdering him. The Cunning Man has reappeared (it’s the first time he’s actually ever appeared in a book) and his influence makes everyone hate witches. And the new Baron, who Tiffany kind of went out with in the past, is getting married to someone else, and her mum doesn’t much like Tiffany or witches either.

So there’s plenty to take care of, and Tiffany does it in her usual style, by thinking things through and working hard. She learns a couple of new secrets, meets some old Discworld characters and learns more about herself too. It’s not complicated, but it is shot through with quality.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s